Umlauts in Moonmin Land: Book Review – The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

I suck at blog monogamy. I’ve  been here before, in another place with another blog and it all ended in tears. Well,  sort of.  It didn’t stop me from creating another one aaaannnnddd another one after that. I just couldn’t pin myself down to one idea.

So, I’ve got lots of blog wreckage all over the web and I’m finally beginning to tidy it all up and add it all this blog. Just give me time.

Here is a book review from the blog wreckage of one of my first blogs: Along the Bookshelf in 365 Days

Book Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattooWhen it comes to hype,  I’m usually one of it’s first victims. My genre monogamy goes out the window and I start to devour the latest ‘It’ books like The Twilight Saga and the Sookie Stackhouse series (True Blood), as if my life were dependant upon them. But when bookworms across the world contracted the Millennium bug, I seemed to be the only one immune. It wasn’t until I gave in and bought the first part that I finally caught it…

Until recently, I’d only ever been aware of two notable success stories to come out of Sweden: flat-pack furniture from IKEA and the Moonmins, but having now read Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo I think we can safely staple Larsson’s trilogy to those Swedish success stories.

This book was like eating a tub of my favourite ice cream (Ben & Jerry’s Baked Alaska) or playing Pixalated on my Blackberry: it was incredibly addictive.

Although I found myself slightly lost in translation at the beginning, unable to pronounce some of the names and places like Blomkvist, I was hooked by the time  Blomkvist (the journalist turned crime detective), got to Hedeby Island. The sub plot about the disappearance of Harriet Vanger at Hedesby Island, is my favourite of the whole book. I felt like I’d  transported into my favourite computer game, Professor Layton and the Curious Village as Blomkvist tried to solve the mystery of the disappearance. I had my own theories ofcourse, infact I was certain that Salander was infact Harriet Vanger. I am a rubbish detective!

Right, if I keep writing I’ll give the whole book away so I’ll bid you adieu.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

