Book Review: City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

I found this review on one of my old blog sites that I’ve now deleted 😦 , and thought I’d share it on here. Enjoy!

city-of-bonesI’ve been itching to read this series for a while now, I’ve just never got round to it. There’s always another book, another series and not enough time etc, but thank goodness I finally made time to read it.
City of Bones is teen fiction with attitude. I really identified with the urban fantasy setting; it’s New York but not New York as you’d know it. There are faeries running amok in Central Park; New York’s seedy underbelly is littered with demons, vampires and werewolves AND as if that wasn’t enough, there are ‘slayer’ type hero’s wandering the streets, hunting down said above nasties. It’s complete and utter madness, and very Buffy the Vampire Slayer-esque… but I LOVE it!

Both of Clare’s main characters, Clary and Jace, are refreshing subversions of their stereotypical character types. I never knew what to expect of them. Clary, the heroine ISNT a strong female protagonist. She has flaws; she’s short, red- headed and clumsy and Jace, the young, gorgeous, mysterious hero who I’d usually swoon over, was my least favourite character.I found him way too cool and non chalant for my liking.

Unlike most teen fiction, romance is hard to come by in City of Bones. There’s a smattering of unrequited love between Clary and her best friend Simon (Buffy and Xander much?), there’s something between Clary and Jace that never really comes to fruition (for reasons the books climax explains) and a gay character that never really gets portrayed.. And it’s all the loose ended relationships that keep me hooked despite the fact that there is something evil brewing in New York City.

Although a lot of blurbs for this book say that ‘if you like Twilight, you’ll love this’, well, they lied. This is NOTHING like Twilight. Okay it nibbles at romance and it is littered with vamps but believe me when I say, this is WAY better than Twilight. If it resembles anything, it’s maybe Buffy and smidgens of Harry Potter. This book is like a rollercoaster ride, it’s fast, pacy and there are twists and turns in nearly every chapter. Read it!

Leave a Reply

